SISTER FRIENDS

Saturday was girl’s night out.  My friends and I decided that we were going to live it up in a small town.  It has been a while since we all went out dancing, laughing and spending time together.

The party started at a friend’s house.  She just purchased her first home and got a pretty good deal on a home that the bank foreclosed on.  She is only twenty years old.

The living room started off being divided by two very different and distinct generations. Seated on the couch were the Millennials, young women born between the early 1980’s and the early 2000’s.  Seated facing the young women were myself and my friends, women in their forties born between the early 1960’s and the 1980’s.

The Milliennials were all huddled together on the couch, with their wine glasses in front of them and their cell phones attached to the palm of their hands.   They still had lessons of life to learn.  Lessons about love, relationships, careers and heartbreaks.

Their silliness and kindness were fresh reminders of how much I had changed in the last few decades.  When I was their age I was already a mother with two small children and the opportunity to sit around with my friends would have been foreign to me.  I listened intently to their dreams and their plans for the future and remember that not so long ago, I too was a dreamer.

The other end of the room the women of my generation were sitting.  We all hoped we had learned the lessons that life had handed us.  We were raising our own children and made a few mistakes in our lives along the way.  We knew we could not go back and make any changes but we hoped that our younger friends would not make some of the mistakes we had.

All of us had failed relationships.  One had recently left her husband less than a month ago, one was still in court hoping to tie up the lose ends of her divorce, one was taking her ex husband back to court because he stopped financially supporting her and one had an ex partner who stopped loving her as quickly as he fell for her.

The older women vented about the men we once loved and the relationships they were now having or hoping to have as they forged a new unknown path.  The younger women giggled and would dance to a song that was playing in the background.  Two very different generations of women seated in the same room, having very different experiences of life.

There were words of wisdom passed to the younger women in the room about men and how not to get burned and how to show him the door if he doesn’t make her happy.  There were words of strength and empowerment on how to be a strong female and a strong individual.  These lessons were shared passionately between the two groups.  I think we all took something away with us that night.

The women drank wine, filled empty wine glasses for each other, played music, danced to new and old tunes and filled the home with love, encouragement and hope.

We spent the rest of the night, socializing with old friends and the new ones we met, protecting each other’s purses and each other’s hearts.  I realized on Sunday morning that I have wonderful sister friends I love who are not born of my bloodline nor my culture, but have shown me friendship and love that I definitely need as I pave a new life on my own.

One thought on “SISTER FRIENDS”

Leave a Reply

