The Wedding

I sit across the table from him and watch as he sips the glass of wine I had poured for him. His face has changed since the last time I had seen him. He needed to shave.

“I wanted to tell you something and I am glad you finally agreed to meet with me. It’s been a long time since we have seen each other. My uncle left me some money after he died.”

He looks at me. I can see the greed in his eyes. He has always been so obvious. “What do you mean?” He inquires. “How much money are we talking about? Which uncle?”

He doesn’t even ask me how my uncle died or how I am dealing with my grief. I am not surprised. He was and always will be heartless. This is why I don’t feel bad about what I am about to do.

“Two million dollars.” I whisper. I put the investment papers on the table for him to see. “He left me two million dollars. I found this out last month and you were the first person I wanted to tell.”

He smiles and it disgusts me because I know what is coming. “How have you been? I have been thinking so much about you lately.” He tries to say these words as if he cares about anyone else but himself. “You look really good.” He finishes.

“You look really good too.” I look at him for the longest while without saying anything. “I wanted to share this with you. I couldn’t think of anyone else that I wanted to share this with. “

He doesn’t let me finish the speech that I had rehearsed since I received the news about the money. He takes my hand in his and tells me that he had been rethinking our separation for months now. He says that he was happy to hear from me again.

We caught up on each other’s lives since he walked out on me nearly two years ago. “I have this wedding to go to next weekend and I don’t want to go alone. I was wondering if you would be my chaperone?” I said as calmly as I could.

I am not sure if he will take the bait. But he does and agrees to meet me at the wedding the next Saturday at 3pm.

SATURDAY

“Are you sure you want to do this?” I look in the mirror and watch my friend standing behind me.  “Are you sure you really want to do this? Is it even worth it anymore?”

I think about what she had just said to me. I stared at myself in the mirror but I don’t respond to what she has asked. “Is he here yet?”

“Yes. Heather saw him about ten minutes ago. He is here. They are waiting for you anyway.” She turns me around to face her. “You are absolutely stunning. He is a very lucky man to have you. It seems like your life is falling into place.”

“I know.” I whisper softly. “I can’t even imagine that this is really happening. First, my uncle leaves me all this money. All my dreams are coming true.”

We hug and the music begins to play and we begin to walk out to where everyone is waiting for us. Everything looks so perfect. It was a blessing to have the millions of dollars that came my way. It really helped to make this day even more magical. I can see him. He looks nervous to be around people he doesn’t know. Everyone stands as Gail and I enter.

I see the love of my life. He looks dashing in his white suit. He smiles at me and I can see how much he truly loves me. I have waited all my life to have someone look at me this way.

Our eyes lock, the man I thought I once could not live without. I watch as the humiliation comes across his face. “What is going on?” He demands to know.

“I am getting married. I am getting married to a wonderful man. I wanted you to be here to watch me walk down the aisle into the arms of the man to whom you pushed me towards when you cheated on me. The man I found after you left me. I am a millionaire and you don’t get to share in any of it.” I smile and walk down the aisle.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Wedding”

Leave a Reply

